The Makeups of Monsterpalooza 2016

Alexander Ward as American Horror Story's "Mattress Man" by Mike Mekash.

Alexander Ward as American Horror Story’s “Mattress Man” by Mike Mekash.

If you made it to Monsterpalooza last month you got to see just how big this convention has become at its new home in the Pasadena Convention Center. The 25,000 square foot ballroom was filled with monsters, demos, signings, merchandise and much much more. Not to mention the adjoining Halls where panels, screenings, lectures and after parties drew huge crowds.

Premiere Products Inc. held twelve live makeup demos over the course of all three days at its massive new booth — where the talents of Eryn Krueger Mekash, Cristina Waltz, Dan Gilbert, Steve LaPorte, Akihito Ikeda, Mike Mekash, Kenny Myers, Mark Coulier, Bill Corso, Vincent Van Dyke, Louie Zakarian and Richard Redlefsen were on display.

Lois Burwell

Lois Burwell

Also at the booth were Academy Award®-winning makeup artists Lois Burwell, who was giving one-on-one demonstrations of the Fleet Street line of products — and Greg Cannom, who was giving demos of the Skin Illustrator Glazing Gels, including The Cannom Collection Bruising Kit and The Cannom Collection Glazing Spray Color Kit.

On Saturday night, at the Monsterpalooza Afterlife Party hosted by PPI, Greg Cannom was honored with the first ever Monsterpalooza Frightime Achievement Award in recognition of his 40 years of excellence in makeup. The award was presented by none other than actor Gary Oldman who Cannom has worked with on such films as Dracula and Hannibal.

Greg Cannom and Gary Oldman

Greg Cannom and Gary Oldman

Overall, this year’s Monsterpalooza was a resounding success. Skin Illustrator looks forward to Son of Monsterpalooza this September 16-18 hosted at the Marriott Burbank Convention Center across from the Burbank Airport.

If you’d like to see more on the incredible makeup demos hosted at the PPI booth check out the latest additions to our Gallery section or visit via the thumbnails below.

Eryn Krueger Mekash

Dan Gilbert

Cristina Waltz

Akihito Ikeda

Kenny Myers

Mark Coulier

Bill Corso

Louie Zakarian

Richard Redlefsen

Vincent Van Dyke